Bright Light

I used to find the dreary days on the East Coast kind of depressing.  I had heard that the constant dreary winters of Seattle can really get to people, but I found myself getting used to the murky weather.  In the past week, I think the sun came out once for about an hour and a half.  It was a glorious thing to see.  It was like living in a tropical paradise for a brief time.  It was the hour and a half to go outside and enjoy life!  But, really, I appreciated that the weather never dipped below fifty degrees Fahrenheit.  If I’m lucky, the East Coast will get an early Spring in March when I return and I will have avoided the winter.  I don’t think I’ll be quite that lucky, but you never know.

Now I am in California for a month. Fresno, where I have been coming for seven years now for the Rogue Festival.  This year I will be in the Mardi Gras parade, acting in a new drama “Dancing in the Mist,” and continuing to ride “Best Picture.”  I am even going to volunteer for a day at the festival.  California can be a wonderful thing for a true blue East Coaster like myself.  People here actually…  relax.

I’m writing this during a break from rehearsing “Dancing in the Mist.”  I’ve got lines to learn.  Yep, no relaxing for me yet.

Current reading: I’m very much enjoying “White Teeth” by Zadie Smith.

Current movie: Nothing in the past week.

Current TV: Started season four of “Sons of Anarchy.” Finished season two of “Damages.”

Current wisdom: Breathe.

Leave a Reply

